Start Sailing CANSail 1

If you have never been sailing before or want to learn to sail this is where you should start. Our start sailing or CANSail 1 course will get you out on the water to learn all of the basics. We spend as much time on the water as we possibly can and provide all the special equipment you need.

This product is currently out of stock and unavailable.

Description

Is CANSail 1 Suitable for you?

CANSail 1 is suitable for you if you are:

  • NEW to sailing and have never sailed before;
  • haven’t sailed for 2-5 years and need a refresher on the basics;
  • want to improve your basic sailing skills and gain confidence;

If you’re in doubt then contact us.

Curriculum

In this CANSail 1 learn to sail course we teach you how to prepare to go sailing, sail in every single direction and some very basic safety procedures. Lessons will include:

  • how to rig a sailboat from start to finish;
  • tacking and gybing in a sailboat;
  • launching and recovering a sailboat under supervision;
  • sailing upwind and downwind (sailing in every direction to a really basic level);
  • recovering a capsized sailboat (yes you have to go in the water).

Independent Study

This course involves some independent study – we give you the materials to learn the following in your own time:

  • knots – bowline, figure 8 and double fisherman knot;
  • parts of a sailboat.

All of our courses have an emphasis on practical skills. We will spend as much time as possible on the water.

Additional information

Tuesday May 29, 2018

Tuesday May 29, June 5, 12, 19 and 26 from 6pm to 9pm.

Tuesday July 3, 2018

Tuesday July 3, 10, 17, 24 and 31 from 6pm to 9pm
Please keep Tuesday August 7 free as a rain date / add on class

Wednesday July 4, 2018

Wednesday July 4, 11, 18, 25 and August 1 from 6pm to 9pm
Please keep Tuesday August 8 free as a rain date / add on class

Saturday July 7, 2018

Saturday July 7 and 14 from 10am to 5pm
July 21 from 2pm to 5pm

Thursday July 5, 2018

Thursday July 5, 12, 19, 26 and August 9 from 6pm to 9pm
Please keep Thursday August 16 free as a rain date / add on class

Saturday Aug 11, 2018

Saturday August 11 and 18 from 10am to 5pm
August 25 from 2pm to 5pm

Saturday Sep 8, 2018

Saturday September 8, 15 and 22 from 10am to 4pm

Sunday Aug 12, 2018

Sunday August 12, 19 and 26 from 10am to 4pm.